Thread: Pacman enclosure and light questions

Nationality
    [Canada]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Question Pacman enclosure and light questions

Hi, I have just acquired 10 pacman frog juveniles to try my hand at breeding them. FYI I have been breeding reptiles for 7 years, but I am new at pacman frogs. I have 3 ornates, 3 sunburst, 3 tangerine, and 1 albino.

I have read multiple care sheets including Josh's, but I still have questions because of the specifics of my setup.

1- I have not seen any information on the need for any specific lighting, is that because pacman frogs don't require any UV light at all ?

2- Can you keep a pacman in a bin/rack setup with no direct lighting except for the lights from my chams on the opposite wall?

3- Right now my frogs are young and growing so I feed them every other day with pinkies, and the other days I give 4-5 crickets or a night-crawler. They are nice and chubby and never refuse to eat. Is this a good feeding choice for young growing frogs?

4- I have them on fine coco with a cypress mulch layer at the bottom, is that good?

5- I only have a small water dish from the bottom of clay pots, is that enough?

TY for your comments, and I would really like to hear from ppl that keep dozens of these guys, breeders hopefully.

André
    AJ Reptiles
    Like us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AJReptiles.ca

20+ Ball Pythons, 40+ corns, 1 Veiled Chameleons, 20+ Amazon Milk Frogs CB, 30+ Pacman frogs CB, 14 Vietnamese Mossy Frogs CB, 3 Red Eyed Tree Frogs CB, 14 White's Tree frogs, 8 Starry night reed frogs, 1 dog, 8 kids and 4 grand kids.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [Canada]

Default Re: Pacman enclosure and light questions

Hi and welcome to the forum!
    For your questions. Ornates is a different species of pacman frog then the other frogs you got, based on colours you mentioned you have c.cranwelli., but if you post their pics we can better ID them.