Thread: American Green Tree Frog Terrarium Set Up

Nicknac44

Smile American Green Tree Frog Terrarium Set Up

Hello everyone!

I have just recently joined this forum, and this is my first post! Huzzah! I am very excited to be here and learn all I can. I am very new to the hobby, and recently adopted an American green tree frog (or at least that is what I am told it is). I have done some research and recently made a trip to the pet store and tried to set up a terrarium for the little guy/girl. However, I have a few questions that I can get some help with here.

1. Attached are some pictures of what I came up with.

There is a bottom layer of aquarium gravel (for drainage), a layer of ecoearth coconut fiber about 1 1/2 - 2 inches deep where the plants roots are, and a layer of reptile moss I picked up at my local pet store.

The lighting is an Marineland Aquatic Plant LED lighting fixture. (I believe it is an older model mine doesn't have the timers and dimmers), but it is much like this one: Marineland Aquatic Plant LED Lighting System w/Timer: LED Aquarium Light Fixtures ).

I think the plants will be fine, but is this LED too bright for him/her? I know this light will do wonders for plant growth so I would really like to use it, but I cannot find any mention of LEDs on Green Tree frogs.

2. Seems a bit skinny. I have been feeding him/her gut loaded crickets, 2-4 crickets every 2-3 days. Is that a good feeding regimen and what could I supplement to help him/her gain some needed weight.

I read that temperature and humidity plays a role in body weight. Currently that tank is kept at around 78 during the day and around 75 at night (my ambient house temperature), and the humidity is never below 75. I mist every morning with de-chlorinated water and always have a small bowl of fresh water for him/her. Ideas?

3. Thank you so much if you have made it this far. As you can probably tell I am very new to the hobby and just want the best for my little friend.