Thread: Setting up a Vivarium for Beetles (and potentially other invertebrates)

d3ns06

Default Setting up a Vivarium for Beetles (and potentially other invertebrates)

Hi All,

I'm pretty new to new to setting up vivariums and I'd like to get some advise from you "veterans" out there.

A bit about my set up (photo-1)(photo-2)(photo-3):

• I have a 30cmx30cmx45cm(h) vivarium.

• I have a male Rainbow Stag Beetle as the sole occupant at the moment (Phalacrognathus muelleri) but in future I might look into breeding some Rhino Beetles (Xylotrupes ulysses)

• I have two small plants inside (fern/moss) type low maintenance plants that require low light

The vivarium has a drainage layer composed of medium sized pebbles and charcoal. I am planning to place an artificial mesh in between the drainage layer and the substrate layer to separate them.

The vivarium is in an area that gets very little direct sunlight. At the moment the temperature ranges from 20-25 degrees centigrade with around 60%-85% humidity.
    When I introduced the plants, I was not able to do the proper processing of the plants so I've been observing the vivarium for the past two weeks and have not observed any abnormalities.

I am finding that one of the plants is not doing so well, I believe it is due to the lack of nutrients in the substrate, and possibly because the beetle loves burrowing under it.
    I have read that vivarium plants need around 12 hours of light so I will begin doing this, the light I got doesn't really affect the temperature of the vivarium too much. The light I have has a 6700K colour temperature and I am anticipating that's all I will need to sustain plant life in the vivarium.

I will be doing a complete overhaul of my set-up and starting fresh.