Thread: Enclosure size

byrdviper

Default Enclosure size

Hello, im new to dart frogs. I have been into snake and monitors for about 30yrs. They are to large and messy and a vivarium looks more down my alley. To my question. I'm converting a Oceanic Lizard Lounge Model 70 to this removing the front glass and having doors made. So my question sorry, how many darts will live in this 36"x18"x24" enclosure happily? This is going to have a waterfall, reptifogger, and a rainbar across the top. I have read alot about the cans of foam to make a back ground. Has anyone else done this and if so is it safe to the frog with a waterfall running down it even with the silicone. I've planned on using a fluval canister filter for the rainbar and waterfall to keep the water clean and raising the floor about 1-2" for drainage any input would be great. Sorry i rambled on so much, i just wan't to do this setup right before i get frogs in there. thanks

Paul Rust

Default Re: Enclosure size

First off welcome aboard. Sounds like you are doing your homework, a good idea with darts. How many you can put in there will depend on the species. Size of the animal and whether they are arboreal or terestrial will dictate how many you can have along with the orientation of your vivarium. It is normally accepted that they need 5 gallons of usable space per frog. Your enclosure is roughly 67 gallons but not all is used by the frogs. The more space the better. An example is I have 4 tiny R.amazonicas in a 75g.There are many members here with darts and some of the setups are amazing. look through some member photo albums and see what ideas you can pick up. Do you know what species you want yet?

byrdviper