Thread: Planning an upgraded C. cranwelli vivarium

chibikaie

Default Planning an upgraded C. cranwelli vivarium

I would like to arrange a better habitat for my pacman frog. I'm planning on getting one of the front-opening terrariums, preferably 18"x24"x12", and adding more live plants to provide better cover. (I'm also considering an 18" height to allow for taller plants. I would have to upgrade heating and possibly lighting, perhaps substantially.) Since I'm still pretty new to amphibian care, I have a few questions.

Would isopods and/or springtails be a good addition? The plants will be in net pots, dead leaves will be removed promptly, and I plan to change out 1/3 to 1/2 of the ground coconut coir substrate every two weeks in addition to spot cleaning. I don't mind if they don't really have much of a purpose (I assume they're too small to be considered good food), but they sound incredibly nifty.

Is there a good list of easy to grow plants suitable for pacman enclosures somewhere? When I find suggested plants, they tend to vary a lot in terms of necessary care. I am able to grow Spathiphyllum wallisii, but don't have much luck with most plants. Other than this nearly indestructible "peace lily", I would really like something that will climb up the back.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Isopods and springtails would be a waste. they will live in the substrate that you are going to be changing bi-weekly, meaning you'll be getting rid of them as well.
    Bullet proof plants that you can use are pothos, vining philodendrons, ficus pumilia(creeping fig) and a few others, but those should be a good start for your research
    Plan accordingly for changing substrates as well, using plants in pots is a great idea, but if you have a pot in the substrate and the plant attaches and climbs the walls, you are going to be frustrated changing substrates around a pot you can't really move. Just food for thought on that one.
    1.0.0 Oophaga Pumilio 'Black Jeans'