Thread: Is water circulation really necessary

Nationality
    [South Africa]

Default Is water circulation really necessary

hey guys, I'm Fran from South Africa, and I'm new to frogs.
    So I'm getting some pdf's in a few month's time, and thought it's best to start building some vivariums , I'll be using 29gallon(110L for us metric system users) aquariums converted to vivs. Anyway the question I would like to ask, Is it important to have a pump or filter circulating water in the vivarium? I'll be using false bottoms ,with PVC access tubes hidden in the background for maintenance (water changes), and then just hand mist. If I establish the plant life way I advance of adding frogs, would that aid in preventing the water from becoming stagnant? To me a pump just seem nosy and kinda unnecessary, it makes sense to me that simple systems have less things that can go wrong down the line?

Apologies if this topic has already been discussed in another thread, but I could not seem to get any definitive info on the topic.

Thanks guys

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: Is water circulation really necessary

Hello and welcome to FF! You do not need a pump or filter in a vivarium; although a filter is a good idea, if there is a large built in water feature. Otherwise will need to do daily water changes of around 25 to 50% depending on the ammonia and nitrite levels. If frog's water is in a dish you can clean daily; then there is no need for either pump or filter .
    Remember to take care of the enclosure and it will take care of your frog !​

Nationality
    [South Africa]