Thread: First attempt at cricket farming

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Question First attempt at cricket farming

This is my first attempt at cricket farming. I have done a fair amount of research and it seems that they are no more difficult to keep than the mealworms I had in grade school.
    Right now there are about 150 small crickets that I am keeping in a 5 gallon tank with a screen lid. They have plenty of paper egg cartons to hide/climb in and I feed them fruits and veggies every day.
    So far is this a good way to raise them until they become sexually mature?
    Мy darlings :
    0.2.0 Calico and Tuxedo cats Ksyenja and Koshek
    1.1.0 Xenopus leavis Carlos and Cecil
    2?.0.2 Bombina orientalis Ivan the Terrible, Peter the Great, Lenin and Putin
    0.1.0 Grammostola rose Megan Wallaby
    1.1.0 Heterometrus laoticus Ian and Isaac

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]

Default Re: First attempt at cricket farming

I am considering changing from their tank to a cricket keeper, especially since it's a little difficult to transport them over to my FBT tank.
    Мy darlings :

Nationality
    [United States]
    High Point, North Carolina, United States

I'd be interested in hearing from cricket breeders too!

As for the transporting part, I use toilet paper rolls instead of egg cartons. When I get ready to feed I just grab a roll of crickets and dump them into my 32 oz dusting cup. If there are too many, I pour some of them back in their tank. Sometimes my eyes are bigger than my frog's stomachs and I end up dumping some dusted crickets back in their home - they don't seem to mind or be fatally affected by the dusting. I even chill mine to slow them down for the frogs - so they are crawling but not jumping. That doesn't seem to kill them either. They are pretty hardy little creatures.

Nationality
    [United States]