Thread: A warning to those who use paper towel for substrate with baby frogs :(

Lil Krystal

Default A warning to those who use paper towel for substrate with baby frogs :(

I am new to frogs and I had 3 baby green tree frogs. I was told I can use paper towel on the flooring of my tank. I made sure all the paper towel was perfectly flat and fitted in my tank.
    I went to feed my frogs one afternoon and couldn't find one. I paniced and thought he had escaped. after pulling everything out of the tank I found him dead under the paper towel So just a warning to make sure if you have little frogs they can't get under the paper towel or they may get stuck and die.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Paul Rust

Default Re: A warning to those who use paper towel for substrate with baby frogs :(

Quote Originally Posted by Lil Krystal View Post
    I am new to frogs and I had 3 baby green tree frogs. I was told I can use paper towel on the flooring of my tank. I made sure all the paper towel was perfectly flat and fitted in my tank.
    I went to feed my frogs one afternoon and couldn't find one. I paniced and thought he had escaped. after pulling everything out of the tank I found him dead under the paper towel So just a warning to make sure if you have little frogs they can't get under the paper towel or they may get stuck and die.

I am very sorry to hear this. What likely happenned is the frog was ill and hid under the towel where he expired. I rather doubt he got stuck. In either case I'm sorry for your loss.

Nationality
    [New Zealand]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: A warning to those who use paper towel for substrate with baby frogs :(

Im so sorry for your loss.

fruggit

sorry for your loss im new to frogs too they say its harder to keep baby frogs!

scribbles

Quote Originally Posted by NW Amphibian Rescue View Post