Thread: ceramic-heat-emitters

MM70531

Default ceramic-heat-emitters

Hi guys, I'm new to this hobby. I have a ceramic-heat-emitter in my Exo terra 18x18x12 terrarium. During the day the temp is 80-83 and at night it drops to 71.6 in front and 77.2 on the back left side where I have the heat pad stuck to the glass on the side. My question is should I leave the ceramic-heat-emitter on at all times so the temp stays up?

Its for my pacman frog who I have had over a week now still hasn't eaten.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: ceramic-heat-emitters

I use a ZooMed HydroTherm sensor and connect the Ceramic Heat Emitter to it. With the HydroTherm you can set the temp to maintain during the day and a temp you want to maintain at night. The HyDroTherm has a photo eye on it to sense if there is light or not. I have mine set so it is pointed at the light in the terrarium. When the terrarium light goes out the HydroTherm switches to night settings and allows the terrarium to cool down to my might temps and then maintains that temp all night.

The HydroTherm also does Humidity but I have had very bad luck with it controlling my mister so I have that setup on a separate timer, but I do use the Humidity readings from the Hydrotherm to keep an eye on things.

In Short - The Hydrotherm is a thermostat that will turn the CHE on and off to keep it at the desired temps and has a night setting available.

http://www.amazon.com/Zoo-Med-HygroT...rds=Hydrotherm

MM70531

Just ordered it from eBay 35.00 new on eBay. How happy are you with it?

Nationality
    [United States]

Quote Originally Posted by MM70531 View Post
    Just ordered it from eBay 35.00 new on eBay. How happy are you with it?