Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to Pacmans, A Few Questions...

Kaleen

Default New to Pacmans, A Few Questions...

Hello my name is Kaleen, I posted a thread in Introductions earlier. I am new to Pacman Frogs and amphibians in general, and I have a few questions concerning my albino pacman Charlie. We have had him for about a week now and he seems to be thriving. Feeding time is exciting as Charlie is a voracious eater, and ferocious when it comes to food. I have been mostly tong feeding except for the few crickets I accidentally drop, which he has no problem hunting down. My first question is concerning the amount of crickets I should be feeding Charlie per day? He doesn't seem to get full, and I don't think I'm feeding him enough. I've been giving him between 4-5 medium crickets per day, is this adequate? I'll post a picture so you can see his size.
    The other topic of concern is Charlie pooping. Since he has been in our care for approximately one week now I have seen and removed poop from the enclosure once. I also saw him pee right before feeding time yesterday. As I've never had a pacman frog before I don't know how often they poop, he has eaten everyday I imagine he's pretty full. I did feel his right side and there is no presence of a hard lump. Would soaking him at this point be beneficial, or be patient it will happen when it happens?
    Here is the picture of Charlie for size comparison:

-Kaleen

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: New to Pacmans, A Few Questions...

Pacmans do not overfeed; feed all it will eat once a day. Would not be concerned about poop; it varies but many defecate once a week or even slightly longer. If no poop on 2 weeks then would give it a soak in dechlorinated water (80F) with couple drops of honey for 20 minutes followed by a rinse in dechlorinated water.