Thread: Hi everyone!

Nationality
    [United Kingdom]

Default Hi everyone!

Hey all!

I have been interested in frogs/toads since a VERY young age and now I am a lot older I have decided it is time to start keeping them.

I do need some guidance though so any help would be very much appreciated.

I have decided that I am going to buy the Exo Terra Glass Terrarium (30x30x45cm version) and I haven't decided on what species I want to keep yet. I have done a little bit of research and am quite interested in keeping either the Melanophryniscus Stelzneri (I think that is the right one, the Black and Yellow one? haha) or the Hylidae (red eye tree frog? gosh I need to do more research haha).

I am a novice though so other than deciding on a terrarium I have no idea of what I need.

I do know I want to keep real plants and I want the Terrarium to replicate the species natural habitat as close as possible.

Many thanks in advance for any response I get, and I hope to stick around this place for quite some time. I will be doing a step by journal once I know what I want etc.

Danny.

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: Hi everyone!

Hello and welcome to FF Danny! This article has good info to help you pick out a frog species: Frog Forum - Choosing a Frog . Also in the Article Section can find some some specific information about some popular species. Good luck !
    Remember to take care of the enclosure and it will take care of your frog !​

Nationality
    [United Kingdom]

Oh wow, sorry I should have searched rather than just diving in and asking haha.

Thank you for the heads up and I will read through those threads thoroughly.
    Many Thanks!

Nationality
    [United States]
    North Providence, Rhode Island, United States

Welcome!

If you haven't bought the set up yet, I would hold off. You might fall in love with a species that isn't compatible with that tank and an aquarium style tank might be more suitable.