Thread: Starting my First terrarium :)

whiteroses91

Default Starting my First terrarium :)

29 Gallon tank (I purchased it for $15, thinking it was a 20. But I got one heck of a deal.)

I have a pretty good idea of what I want it to look like, but seeing as this is my first attempt, I have a few questions.

- How would I go about keeping the dirt out of a false bottom full of water?
    - To put rocks under dirt or not to put rocks under the dirt, that is the question?. lol
    -What kind of pump to I need for a reptile waterfall? The pump is missing.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

whiteroses91

Default Re: Starting my First terrarium :)

By the way, I want the terrarium set up for a little while, before I get my frogs.

whiteroses91

Anyone have any suggestions on a pump/filter?
    The water needs to be cleaned and needs to be pushed up the water intake of the waterfall. I have found a few, but don't know what is the best.

McLaura

I have a pretty similar set-up, and we did the false bottom out of egg crate and covered it with a fine mesh screen to keep the dirt from falling in. We just put the dirt right on top of the screen, which is the Atlanta Botanical Garden mix, so it's does have some coarser components in it, like charcoal and bark, not straight dirt.

I don't remember exactly what kind of pump we used (my boyfriend did most of the actual work), but I'm pretty sure we bought it at Petco in the aquarium section. I'm sure others here will be able to give you more specific details.

whiteroses91

Thanks!

whiteroses91

Does anyone use the ZOO MED micropump 104? What I understand, from the research I have done about it, it is a filter and a pump, correct?(Good for fountains...so would probably work for my waterfall)

whiteroses91

I spent the morning, working on my terrarium. It's almost completely finished. I only need a few more rocks, to fill the cracks.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Nationality