Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Kevin's first frog

kwandrsn

Default Kevin's first frog

hello everyone my name is Kevin, I am a Deckhand on a tugboat in the Tennessee River.

I am a reefer, spend lots of money and time on my 36 gallon mixed reef with a 10 gallon sump. I have several species of saltwater and freshwater fish and over 50 types of coral. I am very diligent in my aquarium maintenance and like to do things right. but as I can tell you just about anything you would like to know about a reef I have no knowledge about keeping frogs

Thursday afternoon I found a green tree frog on a hot metal barge, no shade, 95 degrees outside. I touched him to see if he was alive, he was very dark green looking. when I touched him he jumped up and latched on to my glove and I finished tying the barge off he stayed on my glove. I went back to the boat and put him in a bucket with a little bit of water in a bowl. after a while he changed to a lighter green color.

I took him home and he stayed in the bucket with a rag tied to the top with holes poked in.it.

the next day I went to aquatic critter and told the boy I needed a home for him. They had starter kits for around $140 and he said I didn't need that. he proceeded to build me a terrarium and set it up for me and it cost $65
    it's a 10 gallon with a screen lid that he taped 75 percent of it up. a large chunk of bark, fake plant suction cupped to the glass and a water bowl and forest floor substrate.

I also purchased a mister, a cricket keeper with the two tubes in it. flukers cricket quencher, flukers high calcium cricket diet, and crickets

I was told to feed a few crickets a day, change water bowl and mist the tank really well. also to change substrate once every month and a half.

I was told I didn't need a heater but they didn't say anything about a light. do I need one? It's in our bedroom which stays a little dark during they day unless we are home and the windows are open or lights on