Thread: Mixing Mantellas

Default Mixing Mantellas

There are three types of Mantellas I would love to own (haven't bought any yet): blue legged mantella (mantella expactata), painted mantella (mantella baroni) and the black-eyed mantella (mantella milotympanum). Are these difficult to find? Can these possibly share the same vivarium?

I am new to this, so I am sure this will appear as a stupid question to you experienced herpetologists, but I have a keen interest in frogs and would be very interested in learning more. Ed

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Socrates

Default Re: Mixing Mantellas

I would NOT recommend mixing species, as their skin secretions are different and are potentially toxic to one another. Also mantellas can be territorial which if there is different species together will lead to a stressed environment. Also painted mantella are in the process or have been placed on the IUCN Red list as endangered and the Mantella expactata is also IUCN listed as endangered as for the black-eyed I am not sure. Thus I'm not certain how easily one can attain these. I know that they are not allowing the exportation of the Mantella baroni anymore (and of course Mantella expactata is already not allowed to be exported from Madagascar).

Socrates: If we can find captive raised endangered species, buy them and successfully raise them, can not the hobbyist, thereby, make a positive contribution to their preservation?

I suppose it is a Catch 22 situation. Hobbyist demands, I suppose, are actually, in some instances, the very cause of the endangerment, no?

Ed

Wembley