Thread: My first vivarium build

Default My first vivarium build

Hey guys, new to the forum here. I have just started to build my first vivarium, and going to keep my first set of PDF, I already have it planted and everything ready except for the frogs of course. I have a few questions if anyone could help me out though.

First things first, I decided since this is my first attempt at a build I was first going to make what I'm calling my "trial" tank. I had a 10 gallon tank lying around so I went ahead and made a background with GS and eco-earth coco fiber. Finally got all the other supplies shortly thereafter and am going with the hydroton false bottom with ABG mix and sphagnum moss. I am first making sure the plants and everything grow just fine and I get the temperatures and humidity correct before I invest in some frogs. Hopefully I have done enough research that this part goes smoothly. Now with that being said, I am going to start working on setting up a background in a 18x18x24 exo terra that I will wanna transition into and use as the permanent terrarium.

Which brings me to all of my questions:
    1. Is waiting and growing plants in a "trial" terrarium a good idea, and will i have any problems transplanting them into a new larger tank once I have it prepared?
    2. If I am planning on waiting a little bit to put the frog into the terrarium anyway, would it be better to get one now and just quarantine it until I am sure the tank is at the perfect settings?
    3. As far as springtails go, since they are like a "janitor" should I get them now in the tank without the frogs or wait until the frogs are available as well so the population of springtail is kept under control?
    4. What is the best way to create a pond within the terrarium and is it even worth it for the aesthetic effect?