Thread: Complete Beginner who has done some research, initial questions about conflicting information...

Default Complete Beginner who has done some research, initial questions about conflicting information...

Well, I'm looking into dart frogs and I have a few questions about the initial stage, the vivarium:

I'm looking to buy this:

Exo Terra Glass Terrarium and Dual Lighting Canopy 60x45x45cm

It's on offer and it is very cheap for what it usually sells for.

My first question is thus:

1 Is this an okay tank to put a few dart frogs in?

I've seen some videos on youtube with people using this exact model and their set ups look fine. Although none of them have videos with the frogs in them or updates about their frogs, just the vivarium set up.

2)Some vivariums have fountains and small water pits, this can't be good can it?

I've seen lots of videos of these set ups. I've read that having a small pool of water can drown the frogs so it's best to stay away from them. Is this true? What if you have a small (very very small) stream that trickles across the substrate.

Also, are fountains alternatives to fog-machines? I was thinking of getting a fog maker for my vivarium for the humidity, which comes to my next question:

3)With the aforementioned vivarium, how hard will it be to keep in the humidity?

It looks like there are a few small gaps between the glass openings which could let out the humidity. I've read that it's best to get a glass 'box' (like an aquarium) and have a glass lid, so nothing can get out.

For the moment, these are my questions. After I know if I should get that tank or look into another, I'll research the next phase (background) and if I have any questions, I'll post them here, as a continuation. After that, I'll be doing the same with the next phase (substrate) and so forth with the other phases.

I'll appreciate any help and try to do as much research as possible before posting any questions.

Thanks

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement