Thread: Frog identification for a new frog caretaker.

Mason Staugler

Default Frog identification for a new frog caretaker.

We started an aquarium at work. My coworkers saw a tadpole swimming around the plants at the pet store and brought it back. When it turned into a frog I started a terrarium.

I think it's going well; I really like this frog! I want to make sure I'm taking proper care of it. Will you all please take a look at these photos and tell me what I've got?

When my coworkers got the tadpole the petstore employee said that it was a bullfrog tadpole, but I don't know if that was a careless identification or not.

https://plus.google.com/photos/11542...42707170692609

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Allistor

Default Re: Frog identification for a new frog caretaker.

I'm no expert but that does indeed look like some type of bullfrog to me.

Nationality
    [United States]
    Blog Entries
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

It's an American bullfrog.
    Terry Gampper
    Nebraska Herpetological Society

“If we can discover the meaning in the trilling of a frog, perhaps we may understand why it is for us not merely noise but a song of poetry and emotion.”
    ---
    Adrian Forsyth

Mason Staugler

Thanks, Allistor! and thank you, Terry!

Nationality
    [United States]

Yes it is . Do you have a swimming area for her? They love to swim. Be sure to dechlorinate any water used for her. She's pretty .
    https://m.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10203589094112277&id=1363241107&set =a.1434844115446.2055312.1363241107&source=11&ref= bookmark

Mason Staugler