Thread: Low humidity?..

Jody1

Default Low humidity?..

HHello I am new to this and I went out and bought a terrarium it's the 24 tall one. I got fake vines and plants. I have a small rock bowl of water and a small waterfall I also use wood chips on the bottom and I even went as far as buying the automatic misting system! I have 2 whites. I have the digital thermostat with humidity and I can't get the humidity up even with the misting??? Right now the tank says 79 degrees and 27 humidity??? Any suggestions?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

DFM

Default Re: Low humidity?..

Is it a screen top tank? if so try taping some ceran rap over half of the top

Jody1

I used cardboard and covered half. Still no luck. I think I mat get a diff gauge and make sure my digital one isn't broke cause at first it was getting wet from the mister

DFM

I am no expert and quite new to the pet frog world but i dont think cardboard would be very effective, because it doesnt seal off half of the tank, it just sort of covers it. Maybe im wrong though, id wait for someone with more experience to pipe in.

Eric Walker

You mean you have a digital temp and humidity gauge not thermostat? thermostats control temp not just give a reading. Sometimes those things can be junk. It happens. If your mist was hitting the gauge it should have jumped up to close to 100% in a few minutes. it shouldn't hurt it. Iv left mine in new vivs for a few days while misting to get an idea of how it cycles and its just fine. return it for a new one. Don't bother with the analogue ones. Their junk.

HerpDerp