Thread: New to Dart Frogs

lilblack94gt

Default New to Dart Frogs

So, I have some Green tree frogs, and am getting the chance to get a couple black and blue Dart frogs from a friend, plus the enclosure and everything. How much difference is there for the PDF and the GTF? The PDFs I am getting are healthy and I want to keep them that way. I know you can't handle them alot. I dont handle my GTFs unless I absolutely have to, just because I dont want to stress them out. What else do I need to know? I am pretty certain they are eating crix.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

lilblack94gt

Default Re: New to Dart Frogs

What type of lighting schedule should I have them on? What type if any UV lighting? Calcium and vitamin dusting schedule?

I noticed nobody replied to you so I'll try and help you out. I'm also new to Dart frogs but I can say that they are not as hard to keep as you might think.

First off, Hyla cinerea and D. auratus are completely differet types of frogs with different needs. PDF's require high humidity and temperatures in the mid 70's, whereas reasonable airflow and a screen top is sufficient to cover the top of your tree frog's enclosure. Also, you mentioned the Auratus were eating crickets. Pinheads are fine but you will also need to learn how to raise fruit fly cultures along with several types of Isopods. Dusting your frog's food with supplements is important. I dust my fruit flies with Repashy Calcium Plus daily and then use a 50/50 mixture of Herpa Vite and RepCal three days a week.(This is a supplement routine I got from a PDF pro.)

As far as a lighting I believe 12 hours on and 12 hours off is the standard time schedule. For frogs a 2.0 tube or CFL is okay but if you are going to have a heavily planted tank then a bulb with a high K rating(6500) will be needed for decent plant growth.