Thread: Grey Tree frog found inside house

morgan2341

Default Grey Tree frog found inside house

Hi everybody! Im new to the world of frogs and came into by accident. I happened to find a grey tree frog inside my house, I live in MN and we are coming into winter right now. Temps are around 40-50 degrees during the day and 30 at night. I found him and he seems very skinny, I put him in a 10 gallon with coconut fiber, looks like dirt and some moss, and some fake plants to hide in. I have tried crickets and worms but he hasnt touched anything. He jumped around for the first few days now he hunkers down into the substrate, so Im guessing he is attempting to hibernate. Here are my questions:

1. Should I allow him to hibernate, even though he seemed a little skinny?

2. If he hibernates do you still change the substrate and wake him up every time you do it?

3. Is there a way to reverse his hibernation?

4. I plan on setting him free next spring, but if I let him go now does he have enough time to get into the ground, and how about his weight, there are no more bugs here anymore.

Thanks everyone!! I appreciate all the help you can provide!

Linsey

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: Grey Tree frog found inside house

Quote Originally Posted by morgan2341 View Post
    Hi everybody! Im new to the world of frogs and came into by accident. I happened to find a grey tree frog inside my house, I live in MN and we are coming into winter right now. Temps are around 40-50 degrees during the day and 30 at night. I found him and he seems very skinny, I put him in a 10 gallon with coconut fiber, looks like dirt and some moss, and some fake plants to hide in. I have tried crickets and worms but he hasnt touched anything. He jumped around for the first few days now he hunkers down into the substrate, so Im guessing he is attempting to hibernate. Here are my questions: