Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My poor baby :(

Sheena

Default My poor baby :(

Hello everyone, I'm new to the frog world. I did a lot of research before purchasing these little guys, but obviously not enough...

I bought two Red-Eyed Tree Frogs (aprox. 1 1/2 in) about 2 weeks ago. One of them had some white splotches, never ate and eventually died about 6 days after I got them. The other one has been extremely active at night and eating about 10 small (very small) crickets a day. However this all changed a couple of days ago. I got nervous after the first one died so I took the one still living out and disinfected the entire tank then put him back in. He didn't eat that night but I wasn't surprised. After reading I reading I realized that I probably didn't have enough hiding places for him so I got a vein and put it in the tank. Well he's been sleeping for two nights now (always been awake and extremely active at night). I took a closer look at him tonight and realized that he has brown/black splotches all over his skin and some funny looking ring on his nose. He was perfect when I got him, no splotches or anything. Am I over reacting? Did I do something wrong?

My enclosure:
    I have a 10 gal aquarium with terrarium liner (fake grass mat) on three sides and the bottom (to help keep it dark so he feels safe...hopefully). I have a 2.0 UVB light (I had been using an infrared light during the day but had to turn it off when I put the vein in, temp got to about 100 F). I mist about 3-4 times a day and the temp stays about 80-85 F during the day and 70-75 at night. Humidity is about 60-70% at night and 70-80% during the day. He has two small bowls of water which I change daily and a few hanging plants around the walls (which he never sits on). I just put in the vein which takes up most of the tank and I feed gut-loaded crickets dusted with calcium D3 and herptivite out of a glass feeding bowl so I know if he eats or not.