Thread: I'm thinking about getting a leopard frog.

emfroggy

Question I'm thinking about getting a leopard frog.

I found a leopard frog for sale at petco online. I'm not sure if it's at my petco store but I would like to know some things about it before I go looking for one. Here's the questions i have about the leopard frog.
    1. is it poisonous? because earlier i was looking at getting some fire bellied toads but the petsmart clerk told me and my dad that it was poisonous and we don't want our dog or our cat to get hurt buy eating the frog by mistake.
    2. are they easy to take care of? because right now i'm a beginner at frog care and I know petco said that they are intermediate but I know some stuff about frog care.
    3. Do they need heating? If they do then can i use a hermit crab heat pad if we still have it. Also what kind of heating do they need?
    4. What kind of take setup do they need? like do they need dry desert like environment or a forest like environment?
    5. How big of a tank do I need for one or two leopard frogs? It depends on how much they cost. If they are expensive like $20 then i'll probably get one for now.
    6.do they need a big water source like a half land half water tank or a water bowl?
    7.Are they active or do they just sit around all day and night?
    8.how big do they grow?
    If anybody would gladly answer my questions then it would be greatly appreciated. Also sorry for to many questions I just want to learn all I can about a frog before I buy it and not like it. also here's the picture from petco just in case there are different species. Name:  leopard frog petco.jpg
Views: 912
Size:  25.3 KB

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

100+ Post Member lindsayshocking's Avatar
    Nationality
    [United States]
    West Sacramento, California, United States
    Blog Entries
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: I'm thinking about getting a leopard frog.

Hey there!