Thread: ADF Beginner Questions

Lil Lina

Default ADF Beginner Questions

Hey Guys, So I'm a total beginner when it comes to frogs and have a couple questions to get me started and make sure I have happy healthy froggies. I just bought my frogs a few days ago and have them in a 5 gallon tank with gravel and some decroations. Currently I have no filter hooked up bc the one that came with the tank is WAY too strong for these little guys and there doesn't appear to be any way to change the setting. I wrapped the intake hose with pantyhose to keep their little fingers and toes safe but it was blowing them all over the tank. How important is the filter? Will it be ok if I skip the filter but change their water very frequently? If i should get a filter, what would be best?

Also I am currently feeding them pellets which I think are clouding up the water a lot, at least I'm pretty sure it's the pellets. Do you guys have any advice on cleaner feeding? I started using a turkey baster this evening to drop the food close by which seemed to work well. Also, how often shodl they be fed? I know this is a super basic question and I've definitely doen my research, which is actually what's causing this question. Everywhere I go some "expert" has a different opinion. Twice a day, once every other day.... What have you foudn is best?