Thread: How many weeks til I should worry

Mikey

Default How many weeks til I should worry

One of my larger ABF has not taken a dump (that Im aware of) since ~2 weeks ago, since which he has fed 5 times on worms , and 1 day on a few chicks. He still is acting hungry and hasn't slowed down. Only problem is his brother has relieved himself 2-3 times since he has. Not really sure how long I should wait until I start thinking impaction. It worries me greatly. but I figure if he is still eating he must be sort of alright.

Any thoughts wud b cool

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

falconez

Default Re: How many weeks til I should worry

Hi Mikey,even if I'm not that experienced in impaction,I would suggest you a treatment usually deserved (and working) with pacs : just put yuor ABF into warm water with some drops of honey;seems to act like a natural help for the frog to poop.
    I can assure you that works properly for my pacman Margherita.
    My Elvis actually eats and poops like a Ferrari so I didn't have the need to try this,but surely it won't hurt your African Bullfrog...

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

I second Falconez's suggestion. Make sure the water is no deeper than up to his chin. Make it a little less than that and disolve 3 to four drops of honey in the warm bath. Have a cup of warm de-chlorinated water ready as well. While he is soaking to help stimulate a bowel movement pour some warm water over his back and then make the stream your pouring hit directly on his vent and flow over it. This should help. If he does not go than just continue the soaks, but the rest should not have honey in them. You only do the honey soak once. Repeat soaks daily until he goes.

If he starts to become stressed from being handled and soaked skip a day. Keep a close eye on him.

Keep us posted.

Mikey

Grif and Falconez,