Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ceramic Heat Emitter Use,

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Ceramic Heat Emitter Use,

I've recently aquired a 60 watt ceramic heat emitter. I've never used one before, but I've heard that they are good that. They are good for heating and not burning off humidity. The problem is that it says on the box that it can only be used with a wire lamp. I'm hoping that this isn't entirely true and that I can use it with one of my dome dimmer lamps.

So does anyone know if I can use this ceramic heat emitter with a dimmer lamp and. Not have to go out and buy ANOTHER lamp. Does anyone know for sure?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [Sweden]
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Ceramic Heat Emitter Use,

I'm not sure what a wire lamp and a dimmer lamp is, but the main problem with ceramic heaters is that the get hot. Really hot. Like, it will melt lamp sockets made of anything else than ceramic. So, what you want is a ceramic lamp socket. Most (if not all) reptiles lamp domes have this, like Exo-terras or Zoo meds. If you could explain what you have a little bit more, I could perhaps be of more help

Nationality
    [United States]

I have Fluker's clamp Lamp with dimmer. They are 5.5 inch clamp lamps. They do have ceramic sockets, but I'm wondering if the dome will also get too hot since I don't use a lamp stand and set the dome right on the metal screen lid. Is this enough info?

Nationality
    [United States]

Also a wire lamp is a lamp fixture that has a metal cage around the socket instead of a dome shade.

Nationality
    [Sweden]
    Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by GrifTheGreat View Post
    I have Fluker's clamp Lamp with dimmer. They are 5.5 inch clamp lamps. They do have ceramic sockets, but I'm wondering if the dome will also get too hot since I don't use a lamp stand and set the dome right on the metal screen lid. Is this enough info?