Thread: Feeding cricket to a pacman frog

sgun020

Default Feeding cricket to a pacman frog

Hi there

I am new to the forum, but I have read a few good tips from here beforehand. I am very new in caring for a pacman frog (received him as a Christmas present), so he's been in my care for about a month now. He is about a few months old, and I have been feeding him fish and earthworms, dusted with calcium. As I read from many sites, crickets should be the staple diet, so I would like to introduce cricket. I gave him two crickets yesterday, he ate them, however he seemed to have a hard time digesting - he shut his eyes tightly and the sides of his body curved inwards, like he was in pain. Is this normal? Should I break the pointy tails of the crickets before feeding them to him?

He spat the first one out, and ate it again a few seconds after...then we had to use tong to feed him the second one as he wouldn't catch the other one himself though we placed the cricket right in front of him.

Would anyone be able to let me know?

Many thanks.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: Feeding cricket to a pacman frog

Quote Originally Posted by sgun020 View Post
    Hi there

I am new to the forum, but I have read a few good tips from here beforehand. I am very new in caring for a pacman frog (received him as a Christmas present), so he's been in my care for about a month now. He is about a few months old, and I have been feeding him fish and earthworms, dusted with calcium. As I read from many sites, crickets should be the staple diet, so I would like to introduce cricket. I gave him two crickets yesterday, he ate them, however he seemed to have a hard time digesting - he shut his eyes tightly and the sides of his body curved inwards, like he was in pain. Is this normal? Should I break the pointy tails of the crickets before feeding them to him?