Thread: Love at first sight

littleteacher

Default Love at first sight

I am a preschool teacher and fell in love with these little darlings when my supervisor brought her tank in with 2 toads for the children to watch. I have been caring for my own 2 toads for about a week so I am brand new to this very interesting world of Fire Bellied Toads. I also love gardening and plan on building a beautiful vivarium for my new friends. I have been rreading all I can find on the internet as I am a responsible pet owner and educate myself on the type of pet I have. I also know you can't believe everything you get on the internet. You people seem to really know your Fire Bellied Toads. I do have many questions and am not sure just where to begin. But here goes. I have read not to feed the toads meal worms. However, the guy at Pet Smart that sold me the toads said it was fine. I think they are eating them. I have 2 toads and put 4 worms in the tank. There is usually 1 that I can find that was not eaten. Am I feeding them correctly?

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Welcome . I just joined the forum a month or so ago and I have learned bunches already. Everyone has been very kind and helpful and they really know their stuff here. I have had red belly toads for years and just recently traded them for red eyed tree frogs. when I first purchased my toads the fella at the pet store also told me the same. So, I fed them mealworms and small crickets. One of my babies bloated up and could hardly walk or swim. I soaked him in a warm dechlor bath but it was too late and he passed. I felt awful. The next time I went to get crickets I asked my buddy who has had several types of frogs and toads and he said he probably had trouble digesting the worms and became impacted. So I sadly learned the hard way . I fed the others crickets from then on out and they did great, never got sick, and were healthy energetic little guys .